As a representative democracy, our government is stronger when it is truly of the people, by the people, and for the people. The Pledge for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion will urge our nation’s leaders to ensure that everyone has a seat at the table. 


I, __, pledge to the American people that, if elected, I will make diversity, equity, and inclusion a priority for government personnel at every level—from Cabinet members to interns—because a workforce that represents the rich tapestry of our nation will better serve its people.


As a foundation of my pledge, I commit that I will:

  1. Appoint and/or advocate for the appointment of a national Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer and a Standing Government-wide Committee to guide the Office of Personnel Management and the Presidential Personnel Office on matters of diversity, equity, and inclusion in our government;
  2. Support transparency in demographic, recruitment, promotion, and retention data on civil servants and political appointees serving in the Executive Branch, including through publication of comprehensive and timely public reports;
  3. Adopt an inclusion rule (similar to the Mansfield Rule) for hiring and promotion to ensure a diverse pool of candidates for all political appointments, with respect to Equal Employment Opportunity Commission’s protected classes which include, but are not limited to: gender, gender identity, race, color, age, religion, sexual orientation, disability, genetic information, national origin, tribal citizenship, familial obligations, veteran status, and previous civic service, as well as tending to the importance of socioeconomic status, geography and cultural heritage in shaping the perspectives essential to capturing the full diversity and pluralism of the United States; and
  4. Enforce policies against discrimination, harassment, and retaliation to ensure that all government employees have a safe, respectful, and inclusive space in which to work for the benefit of the American people.


Candidates with color photos and “Watch the Pledge” buttons have taken the Pledge for Diversity to support diversity, equity and inclusion in our government. Candidates with black-and-white photos and “Urge to Pledge” buttons have not (yet) taken the Pledge for Diversity.


It will take a concerted and focused effort to find qualified candidates who are also representative of the American people to serve the public. The Pledge for Diversity was developed by Inclusive America, a nonpartisan 501(c)3 non-profit on a mission to help make the government as diverse as the people of the United States. The Pledge is not, and should not be interpreted as, any kind of endorsement of a particular candidate or party.

By the Numbers

With diversity in government, we can ensure that our leaders will have a variety of policies that take in consideration the needs of all Americans. For far too long, our leaders have failed to represent the rich diversity of our nation. It’s time for a more Inclusive America.


of people running our federal government in 2018 are white. 80% are white men.


of senior ranked executive positions are staffed by minorities.


women have served as a Secretary of Defense, Treasury, or Veterans Affairs.

Our endorsers

We asked those in positions of power from the last few administrations if they approve of our idea. Here’s a list of our endorsers:

Bush Administration

Richard Armitage
John Bridgeland
Mike Leavitt
Christine Todd Whitman
Ann Veneman

Clinton Administration

Charlene Barshefsky
Carol Browner
Henry Cisneros
John Deutch
Stuart Eizenstat
Dan Glickman
David Hayes
Mickey Kantor
Anthony Lake
Federico Peña
Richard Riley
Linda Stuntz
Strobe Talbott


Lt. General Thomas Bostick (Ret.)
Rear Admiral Marsha Evans (Ret.)
Rear Admiral Don Guter (Ret.)
General Edward Rice (Ret.)
General Larry Spencer (Ret.)
Maj. Gen. Clifford Stanley (Ret.)
Lt. Gen. Vincent Stewart (Ret.)

Obama Administration

Sarah Bloom Raskin
Charles Bolden
David Cohen
Nani Coloretti
Michael Connor
Arne Duncan
Eric Fanning
Michèle Flournoy
Chuck Hagel
Maurice Jones
John King
Chris Lu
Alejandro Mayorkas
Andrew Mayock
Denis McDonough
Cecilia Muñoz
Dava Newman
Leon Panetta
Ken Salazar
Gayle Smith
Don Steinberg
Jeff Zients


Tony Coelho
Tom Davis
Lee Hamilton
Glenn Nye

Our partners

There is great work already being done in this space. We are partnering with not-for-profits, think tanks, and activists to ensure that we fill the gaps and coordinate toward the goal of a more inclusive government.